Arranging deck chairs on the Titanic

I’ve gone down wrong roads, full speed ahead. I’ve invested a lot of myself and my assets into bits, large and small, of my life; in every facet of my life.

I dive, I dive deep, and I arrange the pebbles on the ocean floor by size and color with no regard for the time it takes or the never-ending ascents for air.

Often I finish and find it no longer holds meaning or relevance, or it could never be exactly what I’d hoped and pictured, or someone I trusted destroyed all my efforts with a submarine backhoe.

And then I’m left feeling as though I’ve been arranging deck chairs on the Titanic.

I acknowledge the feeling of waste for the long paths to things that don’t remain; I rarely value the long trips down the right roads for the things that do. But far worse, what I never do is value the road.

It was never about the pebbles.
Or the deck chairs.

It was about the hope in the plan, the faith in the effort, the belief in your talents, the joy in the creation.

There is no destination.
The end is the end.
We have only the journey.

Leave a Reply

Old Lady Adventures

I'm not this damn old on the inside...

biking america

which is 4,229 miles, should anyone ask

30in30for30

Every Ballpark, Every Day.

Musings & Meaning

in the Midnight Hour

A Baseball Road Trip

Thirty Major League Baseball Stadiums. Sixty Stadium Dogs. One Season.

