Resistance to Change

20121105-110613.jpg

Until I described my new dishes to J, it didn’t hit me how Mary Englebreit they seem.

I searched for them far and wide, and a long time. But they are perfect. Pfaltzgraff Napoli and scarce.

I’ve packed up the Corelle Old Town that were a wedding gift and now a huge set that I’ve collected for almost 36 years. J wants them and will treasure them as a family heirloom.

I’ve eaten a few meals and the new are very strange. I suppose when you’ve eaten from the same dish in your own home for 36 years, it will be strange.

I am not resistant to change. I value and seek change. Yet this little thing – ‘new dishes’ is almost disconcerting and makes me understand why change is uncomfortable and resisted by many.

Image

Leave a Reply

Old Lady Adventures

I'm not this damn old on the inside...

biking america

which is 4,229 miles, should anyone ask

30in30for30

Every Ballpark, Every Day.

Musings & Meaning

in the Midnight Hour

A Baseball Road Trip

Thirty Major League Baseball Stadiums. Sixty Stadium Dogs. One Season.

