Nine Eleven

On September 11, 2001 I recall exactly where I was, who broke the news, the feelings of disbelief followed by horror, then terror that it wouldn’t end, later the hope survivors would be found, then hopelessness.

I resisted the urge to gather my family, but called the high school to ask if I should pick up my son and they reassured me he was safe. Some time later he called from school. He’s reluctant to tell anyone where he was and what he was doing, but when I remember his voice in that first conversation I now know it was a fork in the road that changed our lives forever.

On September 11, 2001 my 16 year old son was in an auditorium at the high school taking a test proctored by a group of active duty military – the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) – the entrance exam for the military. He said, “Mom, their cell phones all started ringing at once and they were scrambling around whispering. They never told us what happened and we finished the test, but were told if our scores were low they would be scrapped and we could take it again.”

Captain Blaise Morgan aced the ASVAB on September 11, 2001.

Leave a Reply

Old Lady Adventures

I'm not this damn old on the inside...

biking america

which is 4,229 miles, should anyone ask

30in30for30

Every Ballpark, Every Day.

Musings & Meaning

in the Midnight Hour

A Baseball Road Trip

Thirty Major League Baseball Stadiums. Sixty Stadium Dogs. One Season.

